How To Open & Heal Your Chakras

How To Open & Heal Your Chakras

Chakras are the energy centers in your body that help regulate your physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. Opening your chakras can help you feel more balanced, energized, and connected to the world around you. In this article, we will look at how to open your chakras using a variety of techniques.

Learn About The Chakras

Before opening and healing your chakras, it is important to be aware of them. There are seven main chakras in the body, each located along the spine and associated with specific areas of the body and emotions. The seven chakras are:

  • Root chakra (located at the base of the spine, associated with grounding and survival instincts)
  • Sacral chakra (located in the lower abdomen, associated with creativity and sexuality)
  • Solar plexus chakra (located in the upper abdomen, associated with confidence and personal power)
  • Heart chakra (located in the center of the chest, associated with love and compassion)
  • Throat chakra (located in the throat, associated with communication and self-expression)
  • Third eye chakra (located in the forehead, associated with intuition and insight)
  • Crown chakra (located at the top of the head, associated with spirituality and connection to the divine)

Practice Mindfulness

Mindfulness is a great way to open your chakras. Start by finding a quiet and comfortable place to sit or lie down. Close your eyes and focus on your breath. As you inhale, imagine that you are drawing energy up from the earth and into your body. As you exhale, imagine that you are releasing any tension or negativity. Repeat this process for a few minutes, focusing on each chakra as you inhale and exhale.

Crystals For Each Chakra

Crystals can help activate and balance your chakras. Each crystal is associated with a specific chakra and can be used in meditation, placed on your body, or carried with you throughout the day. Some popular crystals for each chakra are:

  • Root chakra: Red jasper, black tourmaline, hematite
  • Sacral chakra: Carnelian, orange calcite, sunstone
  • Solar plexus chakra: Citrine, tiger's eye, yellow jasper
  • Heart chakra: Rose quartz, green aventurine, emerald
  • Throat chakra: Blue lace agate, lapis lazuli, aquamarine
  • Third eye chakra: Amethyst, labradorite, sodalite
  • Crown chakra: Clear quartz, amethyst, selenite

Yoga For Each Chakra

Yoga is a great way to open your chakras. Each yoga pose is associated with a specific chakra and can help activate and balance that energy center. Some popular yoga poses for each chakra are:

  • Root chakra: Mountain pose, tree pose, warrior 1
  • Sacral chakra: Bound angle pose, lizard pose, seated forward fold
  • Solar plexus chakra: Boat pose, plank pose, warrior 2
  • Heart chakra: Camel pose, cobra pose, bridge pose
  • Throat chakra: Shoulder stand, fish pose, lion's breath
  • Third eye chakra: Child's pose, downward-facing dog, eagle pose
  • Crown chakra: Headstand, lotus pose, corpse pose

Affirmations For Each Chakra

Affirmations can help reprogram your mind and activate your chakras. Choose a positive affirmation for each chakra and repeat it to yourself throughout the day. Some postive affirmations for each chakra are:

  1. Root chakra: "Grounded I AM"
  2. Sacral chakra: "Pure Creation I AM"
  3. Solar plexus chakra: "Confident I AM"
  4. Heart chakra: "Love I AM"
  5. Throat chakra: "Integrity I AM"
  6. Third eye chakra: "Divinely Guided I AM"
  7. Crown chakra: "Connected I AM"

Repeat these affirmations to yourself regularly, either silently or out loud, to help balance and energize your chakras. These affirmations are also strongly connected to the I AM Consciousness and my map of the True Divine Self

Practice Pranayama

Pranayama, or yogic breathing techniques, can help to balance and open your chakras. Certain pranayama techniques are particularly beneficial for specific chakras, such as Kapalabhati (Skull Shining Breath) for the solar plexus chakra and Bhramari (Bee Breath) for the throat chakra. Practicing pranayama regularly can help to increase the flow of prana through your chakras.

Kapalabhati involves rapid, forceful exhalations through the nose, followed by passive inhalations.

To practice Kapalabhati:

  1. Sit in a comfortable cross-legged position, with your spine straight and your hands resting on your knees.
  2. Take a few deep breaths to settle into your practice.
  3. Begin with a passive inhalation, allowing your belly to expand.
  4. Exhale forcefully and quickly, using your abdominal muscles to push the air out through your nose. This should create a sharp, snapping sound.
  5. After each exhalation, allow the inhalation to happen naturally, without effort.
  6. Repeat this rapid, forceful exhalation followed by passive inhalation for 10-20 rounds to start.

It's important to note that Kapalabhati is an advanced pranayama technique that should be practiced with caution and under the guidance of an experienced yoga teacher or practitioner. If you have any health concerns, such as high blood pressure or respiratory issues, it's best to consult with a healthcare provider before trying Kapalabhati or any other pranayama techniques. It is also not recommended for pregnant women, those with hernia, or those recovering from recent surgery.

Bhramari Pranayama, also known as Bee Breath, is a yogic breathing technique that can help calm the mind, reduce stress and anxiety, and improve focus and concentration. Here are the steps to practice Bhramari:

  1. Sit in a comfortable cross-legged position with your spine straight, or sit on a chair with your feet firmly planted on the ground.
  2. Take a few deep breaths to relax and settle into your practice.
  3. Close your eyes and bring your awareness to your breath.
  4. Place your thumbs on your earlobes and your index fingers just above your eyebrows, lightly pressing down to block out external noise.
  5. With your remaining fingers, gently press on your closed eyes, using your middle fingers to lightly press on the bridge of your nose and your ring fingers to rest on your cheeks.
  6. Inhale deeply through your nose.
  7. As you exhale, make a low-pitched humming sound in the back of your throat, like the sound of a bee buzzing. Allow the sound to be continuous and smooth, and feel the vibration in your head and chest.
  8. Focus on the sound and vibration, letting go of any thoughts or distractions.
  9. Take another deep breath and repeat the humming sound for a few more rounds.

You can practice Bhramari for a few minutes or longer, depending on your comfort level. It can be done anytime, anywhere, and is especially beneficial when you are feeling stressed or anxious.

Note: Bhramari Pranayama is not recommended for individuals who have had recent ear or head surgery, suffer from severe ear infections, or have any other ear-related conditions. As with any yoga practice, it is best to consult with a healthcare provider before beginning Bhramari Pranayama, especially if you have any health concerns.


Meditation is a powerful tool for opening and balancing your chakras. Choose a meditation that focuses on the chakras, such as a guided chakra meditation or a meditation that uses chakra chanting. Meditation can help to quiet the mind and promote a deep sense of relaxation, which can facilitate the flow of energy through your chakras.

Ultimately, opening and healing your chakras is a great act of self-love and self-care - congratulations! Blessings to all your chakras and your journey on knowing them all fully. 

Divinely Aligned Chakras I AM/WE ARE!

Back to blog

Claim Your 3 Free Gifts for Heart & Soul Healing & Watch Your Relationships Flourish

Get 4 Copies of Raw Attraction Magazine, Steve's Map & Meditations, & His Audiobook! Dream Gifts, Just For You!